Showing posts with label SOFTWARE. Show all posts
Showing posts with label SOFTWARE. Show all posts

Playing QuickTime Movies on PC PowerPoint


Not as easy as it sounds, and to be honest, not having QuickTime readily available on the PC side is very frustrating. Since there is no support for QuickTime in PC PowerPoint, you are seriously limited in the role and use of content available to the general user. Limited, that is, in the narrow sense that if you're bringing content over from the Mac and also in the wider sense, if you have a slide show to present numerous times and find performance variable.
What do I mean by 'variable performance?' Well, imagine that you've got a series of nice high quality slides and you want a rolling slideshow with specific timing and you also want to play it along to some music. Then imagine that you want the slides to start for a specific duration and then change the duration to match the music right on the beat. You want your slide changes to be accurate and what's more, you want the show to run accurately every time.
Now suppose you have a Celeron running XP and Office 2003, do you get it to run accurately every time? Not if you do something differently in your workflow over a couple of sessions, such as, for example, run a few programmes and documents before your presentation. Now your RAM may be used up - if you have a Celeron, it is a good chance you may have less than a Gig of RAM and you have to think about what you do.
Also if you want to get the images and the slides to match your timing exactly, and do so repeatedly, you are relying on PowerPoint's tracking and the PC's ability to deliver the tracking and one or both of these could be subject to conditions and circumstances.
What's a good way round this? Put your slideshow and music in a pre-fixed arrangement that is already tagged and held in check one track to another - like a video format that has a soundtrack and a video track. If you can play the movie, you get the full experience every time.
Video is a very demanding proposition even for the best computers today, whether they be Mac or PC, video, that is, when you are creating or editing or capturing or applying special effects.
Video, when you are just playing back doesn't demand too much though, particularly if you are reading from the hard disc and not from a CD.
So you could really do with movie formats in PowerPoint - it has to be mentioned here that you can use other formats like Windows Media and AVI but - and this is arguable - they're not so good as QuickTime and also, if you have the full range of content creation tools that are available to generate QuickTime movies such as Final Cut Pro, Motion and After Effects, you want to take advantage of what they have to offer.
At this point a 'PC-only' user will object that Windows Media is just as good as QuickTime and say something like: why don't you get 'Flip for Mac' which plugs into FCP etc an allows you to generate Windows media directly from the Export dialogue?
The answer to that is, 'Yes you can do that, but you'd have to pay for and download 'Flip for Mac' and there's a free way to use QuickTime which is still, in my opinion more flexible.
By the way, you can do all the necessary chicanery on a PC; you don't even have to have a Mac if you're that bothered about these things. Personally, I wouldn't want to go down that road but its there for those that want it.
What you need to do on either platform is open up QuickTime Pro. Pro is the unlocked version of the standard QuickTime player and you can buy a key to unlock it from Apple for around £20 or so! You can get 'Pro' for both Mac and PC as I said before.
Now open your movie in QuickTime Pro and go File>Save As and save a reference version of your movie. A reference version is (a) 'not self contained' version, and is just a header or pointer for the main version. Ideally these will be in the same folder and should stay together in there. When you, or someone else, clicks on the reference version, QuickTime is directed to look for the move resource in the main movie. If those resources (i.e. the main movie) are present, the whole thing plays through. If, however, someone has moved the main movie, you will get an error message in the way that a referenced picture in a web page will produce a missing file warning on screen if it is moved from its expected location.
A reference movie will be many times smaller that the original movie so there is no real worries about disc space.
Now, this step of playing from a reference movie is an advantage in itself for the PC platform, as many PCs will 'choke' on a high quality QuickTime movie but will play well from a referenced movie file.
You can take advantage of the same trick to get PowerPoint to play QuickTime:
You will need QuickTime installed on your PC - not the Pro version just the freebie that comes with iTunes etc and is available from the Apple web site.
Make a folder with your main movie it, and then go 'File>Save As...' as above to make a referenced version. If your first movie is '01.mov' call the reference one '01a.mov'. You should do this or something similar as a common rule so that when in PowerPoint, you immediately know which one to import into your presentation.
Now open the dreaded MS PowerPoint and create a new blank slide.
The first thing to do is to go to the 'View>Tool bars. Control' toolbox and then click on the little icon of a hammer in the bottom right of this palette.
Clicking the hammer button described above produces a second dialogue box, all you want with this one is the 'Custom' settings button which is defined by three dots (...)
This button shows a drop down menu with a number of different objects which you can insert into the presentation, from this list select the 'Apple 2.0 controller'.
Once you do this, your cursor changes to 'cross hairs' and you can draw a box - which will be invisible apart from white circular handles. Now right-click on this and choose 'Properties' from the pop up menu.
Now you are faced with a new dialogue box in which you can actually pick the specific QuickTime file you want to insert - I never said it would be short and snappy.
Choose the reference file and click 'O.K'
Leave the controller setting and you will return to your presentation. The only things to bear in mind from here are that:
Every time you open up this presentation, it will probably warn you about running an Active X plug-in - just click 'O.K', its not going to kill you after all. Also, you will find that the first time, performance is sluggish when you open the presentation, give it a second and then it will run fine for this session.
Don't forget that, as ever, the movie is hard-coded tot eh presentation, that is to say, it has an absolute path rather than a relative one. What this means is that it will read the path for including the movie as being from 'C:Documents and SettingsUsernameDesktopFoldernamemovie.mov' or 'Macintosh HD: Users: Username: Desktop: Foldername: Moviename.mov' rather than '/foldername/moviename.mov' for example.
If you plan to use your presentation on another computer, make sure you re-insert the movie as above, or place the presentation in exactly the same position relative to the system so that, for example, you have an account named in exactly the same way on the new computer as the one in which you made the presentation, otherwise it won't work.
Finally, when you play the movie in the presentation, you have to click on it once on screen to put focus on it, then you can use the spacebar to play and pause but if you then want to go on to the next slide, you will have to double click the surrounding background space of the presentation.
Enjoy....download mp4 joiner

SCREAMER RADIO: Mendengar dan merekam radio online

Radio di internet sekarang sudah bukan hal aneh. Semakin banyak stasiun radio di dunia merasa perlu untuk menjadikan program-program siarannya online dengan streaming audio. Daftar radio online di Indonesia maupun di dunia pun sudah dengan mudah kita temukan dengan googling.

Media untuk mendengarkan radio online bermacam-macam, bisa dengan media player yang sudah diintegrasikan seperti windows media player, winamp, atau bisa juga dengan software khusus seperti Screamer Radio ini. Apakah anda sudah pernah coba



Dengan Screamer Radio ini, kita bisa melihat daftar direktori radio online yang sudah ter-update di website resminya (http://www.screamer-radio.com/directory/) dan juga dimudahkan dengan pembagian kategori seperti genre, language, network & regional.



Setidaknya, terakhir saya lihat dari daftar radio ‘by genre’ saja (sekitar 35 genre) sudah ratusan stasiun radio yang ada dan ini tentu akan selalu bertambah. Tentu hal ini akan membuat kita leluasa memilih jenis musik atau program radio yang sesuai.

Beberapa fungsi di Screamer Radio ini yang ‘useful’ adalah stereo separation, audio effect dan tentu saja recording. Recording atau merekam dengan mudah bisa kita lakukan dengan one click.



Dengan jaminan ‘no loss quality’, fitur recording Screamer Radio ini juga bisa melakukan encoding file OGG, WMA, AAC ke MP3. Kelebihan lain adalah ‘Recording Buffer’, ketika kita terlambat memulai recording kita tidak perlu khawatir mendapat track yang terpotong. Kita akan dapatkan satu track utuh


DOWNLOAND DISINI

Kompres MP3 dengan DietMP3

Artikel ini ditujukan buat kamu-kamu yang pingin mengecilkan ukuran file mp3 supaya muat banyak di ponsel atau mp3/mp4 player.

Tapi sebelumnya kita flashback dulu, apaan sih mp3 ? apa bedanya dengan format audio yang lain ?

Perjalanan mp3 dimulai dari format CD Audio. CD Audio yang kita kenal hingga saat ini (biasa dijual di toko kaset atau lapak :p) mempunyai kualitas suara yang tinggi. Kualitas suara yang tinggi ini dapat diperoleh karena informasi yang direkam ke dalam satu keping CD tidak dikompres atau tidak dikurangi kualitasnya. Satu lagu dengan durasi ± 3 menit pada CD Audio dapat memakan ruang hingga 40 MB.

Seiring dengan perjalanan teknologi, dunia mulai mengenal internet. Maka proses download atau upload sudah menjadi hal yang biasa terdengar di telinga kita. Begitu juga dengan proses berbagi file musik.

Dengan format CD Audio proses download musik menjadi begitu lama dan membosankan. Tanya kenapa ? Karena ukuran file yang besar itu ! Bayangkan bila harus mendownload satu lagu yang berukuran 40 MB. Berapa waktu yang harus dikeluarkan ?

Oleh karena itulah format mp3 muncul. Dengan mp3, format CD Audio yang tadinya berukuran 40 MB dapat dikecilkan hingga 12 kalinya. Alias rasio filenya sampai 1:12. Jika format CD Audio satu lagu ukuran filenya adalah 40 MB, maka dengan mp3 lagu yang sama hanya berukuran ± 4 MB saja !

Tapi pertanyaan 6 juta dolarnya adalah : Apakah kualitas audio dikorbankan dengan format mp3 ini ?

Jawabannya adalah : YA.

Cara kerja Mp3 :

Mp3 bekerja dengan memanfaatkan kelemahan pendengaran manusia. Telinga manusia dapat mendengar dalam rentang frekuensi 20Hz-20000Hz. Tapi pada prakteknya kita hanya mendengarkan suara pada rentang frekuensi 40Hz-12000Hz. Suara diluar frekuensi itu sudah tidak dapat kita dengar. Lagu atau musik tentu saja berada dalam rentang frekuensi ini. Tapi ada dinamika suara musik yang berada di luar jangkauan pendengaran kita.

Nah, Mp3 menghilangkan dinamika suara yang berada di luar jangkauan pendengaran kita. Otomatis ukuran file juga akan mengecil.

Kelemahan Mp3 :

Pada bitrate > 128 Kbps mungkin kita nggak akan bisa membedakan kualitas suaranya dengan CD Audio. Tapi ada dinamika suara yang nggak bisa kita dengarkan, tapi bisa kita rasakan. Misalkan aja pada musik klasik. Musik klasik kaya akan dinamika suara. Mulai dari subsonik (dibawah 20Hz) sampai supersonik (20 KHz). Memang kita nggak bisa mendengarkan suara-suara subsonik atau supersonik. Tapi kita bisa merasakan “kehadirannya”. Mulai dari dentuman bas yang “dalam”,”gelap pekat” dan terasa hingga ke jantung !. Format CD Audio pun menjanjikan dinamika suara yang luas, persepsi stereo yang jelas, kedalaman musik yang baik dan stabil. Semua ini nggak bisa didapatkan di Mp3. Apalagi kini muncul format yang lebih baik dari CD Audio, yaitu DVD Audio dan Super Audio CD (SACD).

Anyway Busway..Kembali ke masa kini. Sekarang jamannya orang perlu alat yang ringkas, dapat dibawa kemana-mana. Praktis dan cepat dalam berbagi file lewat internet. Oleh karena itu format Mp3 menjadi format yang populer.

Sudah dikompres 128 Kbps masih mau dikompres lagi ? weleh weleh…Untuk itulah aye tulis artikel ini :

Tujuan DietMp3 : Memperkecil (lagi) ukuran file yang sudah kecil biar muat banyak di ponsel dan/atau mobile media player.


DOWNLOAND DISINI

jetAudio - pemutar musik dan mendengarkan radio streaming


JetAudio adalah salah satu perangkat lunak Pemutar audio dan video. Tidak jauh beda dengan Music Player seperti Winamp. JetAudio mendukung banyak format seperti WAV, MP3, MP3Pro, OGG, WMA, MPG, AVI, WMV, MIDI, RM, dan video, dan audio CD.

Kemudian dengan tampilan-a yang menarik (Tersedia banyak skins) jetAudio juga baik dalam Mengatur playlist, album manajemen, Mengedit tag mp3, dan juga internet Broadcaasting. Tersedia pada equalizer yang jetAudio juga bagus. Dan masih banyak lagi fitur yang ada pada software yang satu ini.


JetAudio Fitur:

Mendukung Semua Format File Mayor, Video Konversi, Audio CD pembakaran, Recording, Tag Editing, Multi-channel sound ouput, Crossfade, Kulit, Subtitles, Internet CD Database, Nyaman album manajemen & playlist, Utilitas, Remote Controller, Media Center Window, Audio konversi, Audio CD Ripping, Internet Broadcasting, Berbagai efek suara, Speed Control, Resume, Synchronized Lyric (Karaoke), Alarm & Timer, Equalizer, Superb Crystal-Clear Sound, modus Toolbar

DOWNLOAND DISINI

Merekam Audio streaming dengan ''AUDACITY''

Akhir-akhir ini, saya sudah berusaha untuk merekam beberapa streaming audio sehingga saya dapat mendengarkannya di lain waktu di MP3 player. Saya menggunakan Linux, jadi aku harus menemukan cara yang akan bekerja untuk saya. Cara yang saya datang dengan harus juga bekerja untuk Windows karena software yang saya gunakan adalah untuk kedua sistem operasi. Perekaman audio dapat digunakan untuk banyak hal, misalnya Anda dapat merekam streaming stasiun radio atau podcast. Kemudian, Anda dapat membagi audio yang direkam ke track jika Anda mau.

Sebelum Anda mulai mengikuti petunjuk ini, pastikan Anda men-download Audacity. Ini adalah sebuah program sumber terbuka yang dapat merekam dan mengedit suara. Saya menggunakan Audacity versi 1.3.3 beta karena memiliki fitur tambahan menetapkan penghitung waktu, tetapi Anda dapat men-download versi yang mana menurut Anda akan suite Anda.

Hal pertama yang Anda ingin lakukan adalah membuka browser Anda dan pergi ke situs apapun Anda ingin merekam audio dari streaming.
Selanjutnya, buka Audacity dan pergi ke preferensi Anda. Di Linux, itu berada di bawah Edit> Preferences; itu mungkin sama untuk Windows.
Pastikan bahwa Anda mengatur perangkat perekaman untuk kartu suara anda. Di Linux, ini akan menjadi sesuatu seperti "OSS: / dev / dsp".
Sekarang Anda bisa menutup jendela preferensi Anda.
Jika Anda download Audacity 1.3.3 beta, Anda dapat mengatur timer untuk merekam untuk satu set waktu. Untuk melakukan ini, pergi ke Trek> Timer Record, dan mengaturnya agar Namun lama Anda inginkan. Jika Anda tidak men-download beta atau jika Anda tidak ingin menetapkan waktu, maka semua yang harus Anda lakukan adalah tekan tombol rekam merah.
Sekarang, Anda dapat mulai streaming musik jika Anda belum melakukannya.
Catatan: Jika anda menggunakan Ubuntu, Anda mungkin memiliki beberapa masalah suara dengan Firefox. Saya menjalankan Firefox dengan ALSA-OSS sehingga saya juga dapat mendengar suara dari program lain.

Setelah Anda memiliki audio dicatat bahwa Anda ingin merekam, Anda dapat membagi rekaman ke trek Anda jika Anda mau. Hal ini mudah dilakukan dengan Label, atau dengan Finder Diam plug-in. Anda dapat menemukan panduan yang sangat bagus.
Dibawah ini ada 2 versi audacity

Audacity versi 1.2.6

Audacity versi 1.3.9

kedua software di atas gratis untuk di downloand,